Silver Technology

Silver as an antiseptic

Throughout history silver has been used for treating various diseases and infections, to disinfect water and food, as well as to treat burns and wounds. Today, silver containing products are well established antiseptics.

Silver acts as an antiseptic because its ions are active and can penetrate bacterial membranes. By interacting with bacterial enzymes and proteins, silver can break down bacteria’s cell profile, causing cellular distortion, loss of viability and inhibit the process of bacterial replication.

The advantages of silver

In comparison to other antiseptics, silver has its advantage in being effective on a broad range of germs even in small concentrations and over a long period of time.

The main advantages at a glance:

  • Well-established efficacy
  • Proven broad-spectrum antiseptic effect
  • Pro-healing as well as odour prevention effect
  • Excellent skin compatibility
  • Skin-friendliness

Causes for infection

Even minor everyday wounds can be infected. Several factors influence wound healing and infection rates. Among them are type and amount of bacteria as well as type and location of the wound. Other important factors are increasing age, underlying diseases, e.g. reduced vascular supply and diabetes mellitus, or drug treatments, e.g. steroids.

How our silver products prevent infection

The objective of traditional wound care with standard bandages is to cover and protect the wound and absorb excess exudates. Elastoplast products with silver technology (Elastoplast Antibacterial Waterproof and Elastoplast Antibacterial Fabric) contain antiseptic effective silver which is released as soon as the metalline silver ions come into contact with the wound. As silver ions eliminate bacteria that cause infections, using the silver technology will help reduce the risk of infections.

Technologie à base d'argent
graphique argent

L'argent en tant qu'antiseptique

Au cours de l’histoire, l’argent a été utilisé pour traiter diverses maladies et infections, pour désinfecter l'eau et les aliments et pour traiter les brûlures et les plaies. Aujourd'hui, les produits à base d'argent sont reconnus pour leurs propriétés antiseptiques.

L'argent doit ses propriétés antiseptiques à ses ions actifs capables de pénétrer dans la membrane des bactéries. En interagissant avec les enzymes et les protéines bactériennes, l'argent est capable de déteriorer le profil cellulaire de la bactérie et d'entraîner ainsi la distorsion des cellules, une perte de viabilité, et d'inhiber le processus de la réplication bactérienne.

Les avantages de l'argent

Comparativement à d'autres antiseptiques, l’argent a l'avantage d’être efficace contre une grande variété de microbes, même en petites concentrations, et sur une long période.

Les principaux avantages de l'argent en un coup d'œil :

  • Efficacité reconnue
  • Effet antiseptique à large spectre éprouvé
  • Effet favorable sur la cicatrisation et prévention des odeurs
  • Excellente compatibilité avec la peau
  • Doux pour la peau

Causes d'infection

Même les petites blessures du quotidien peuvent s'infecter. Plusieurs facteurs influencent la cicatrisation de la plaie et le taux d'infection. Parmi ces facteurs figurent le genre et la quantité des bactéries ainsi que le type et l'emplacement de la blessure. Le vieillissement, les maladies sous-jacentes, par exemple la diminution de la vascularisation et le diabète, ou la prise de médicaments, comme les stéroïdes, sont d'autres facteurs importants.

Comment nos produits à base d'argent préviennent l'infection

L’objectif du traitement traditionnel des plaies au moyen de pansements ordinaires consiste à couvrir et à protéger la plaie et à absorber l’excès d’exsudat. Les produits Elastoplast utilisant la technologie à base d'argent (Pansement Antibactérien Imperméable d'Elastoplast et Pansement en Tissu Antibactérien d'Elastoplast) contiennent de l'argent actif aux propriétés antiseptiques, libéré dès que les ions d'argent métallique entrent en contact avec la plaie. Puisque les ions d'argent éliminent les bactéries responsables des infections, l'utilisation de la technologie à base d'argent réduit le risque d'infection.